JESUS TAKES THE SUMMER OFF

ssummer worship hours

As Jesus walked around town in the middle of the summer he noticed signs in front of the different churches.
In front of the Main Street Baptist Church the sign said: During the summer there will only be one worship service. It is scheduled for 10:30 a.m. each Sunday. All welcome.
That’s interesting, Jesus thought. I wonder where the Baptists go all summer long.
Jesus walked a little further and noticed the sign in front of the Downtown Episcopal Church. It said: Summer hours for worship are 9:30 and 11:00 a.m. Regular four worship services will resume in the fall.
I guess the Episcopalians have decided to take part of the summer off as well, Jesus said to himself. I wonder if they go the same place the Baptists do?
Two blocks further Jesus saw a big sign in front of the Fourth Street Methodist Church. It said: One worship service only during the summer at 11:00 a.m. Also no choir during the summer.
I get the feeling that people must want a break from going to church during the summer, Jesus mused. This is quite a surprise.
On the corner stood the large St. Thomas Catholic Church. The glass encased sign in the front lawn said, Please note the reduced times for Masses during the summer. Regular schedule will resume in September.
Goodness, even the Catholics are taking time off, Jesus said. This is definitely interesting.
After walking through the rest of town and seeing one sign after the other in front of churches announcing reduced summer hours, Jesus decided to call his Father
Jesus sat down on a park bench, took out his cell phone and punched in his Father’s number.
When his Father answered, Jesus said, You’re not going to believe this, Father, but I’ve walked all over town and all the churches that I saw have reduced worship times for the summer.
Oh, I believe it, God said. It’s the trend. People want time off to do other things. Besides, if one church reduces its summer hours, the other churches have to reduce their hours as well or their members will complain that it’s not fair They keep a watchful eye on each other, you know.
Jesus sat and thought for a moment. I was wondering, Father, since I’m not really needed here in town, do you suppose it would be alright if I took the summer off. There’s a little place down by the Sea of Galilee that I would love to do some fishing and relaxing.
Go ahead and take time off, God said. I was thinking of doing the same thing. The things is, they’ll get in touch with us when they need us. You can count on it.

 

Author:

I live simple. I laugh. I love. I write.

Leave a Reply

