Looking at you…

Screen Shot 2017-06-11 at 3.55.48 PM

When you didn’t realize I was looking, I saw you smile…

when you looked at my very first finger painting and you proudly put it on

the door of the refrigerator for everyone to see,

And I wanted to immediately paint another picture.

 

When you didn’t realize I was looking,

I saw you tip-toe into my room late at night

and softly brush my hair back and give me

a kiss on the cheek and whisper, “I love you,”

And I realized that little things mean a lot and

are remembered forever.

 

When you didn’t realize I was looking,

I saw you come home from a long day at work

totally exhausted but willing to bake 26

cupcakes for my class at school,

And I realized what it was like to go the extra mile.

 

When you didn’t realize I was looking,

I saw you sit by the window with tears in your eyes

crying softly and not saying a word to anyone

And I realized how loneliness can make you feel sad

or how someone’s words can make you feel hurt,

And I realized that it’s okay to cry and express your

feelings.

 

When you didn’t realize I was looking,

I saw you get up early and sit at the kitchen

table with a cup of coffee and read your Bible

and then bow your head and say a prayer,

And I realized that talking to God can make you

feel better and help you through the day.

 

When you didn’t realized I was looking,

I saw you greet a man begging for money and

put a whole dollar bill in his basket and wish

him a good day and pat him on the shoulder,

And I realized how important it was to help others

and how a small touch can communicate love.

 

 

 

When you didn’t realize I was looking,

I saw you standing in the background, always

being there to cheer me on in whatever I did,

always supporting me in my efforts and dreams,

And I realized that so much of what I accomplished,

I didn’t do alone, you were the wind beneath

my wings.

 

For all the times you didn’t realize I was looking,

But I was looking and I saw the things you did

that made me feel special and showed me how

much you cared and how much you loved me,

And for the positive example you set for me

And for all the rich memories I now have of you because

I was looking when you didn’t realize I was looking,

I want to thank you.

 

-Charles M. Lee

Author:

I live simple. I laugh. I love. I write.

Leave a Reply

